Message from Adam Kane

Senator Leahy received the Franklin Fairbanks Award in 2015.

Senator Leahy received the Franklin Fairbanks Award in 2015.

November 16, 2021| Category: Fairbanks Museum

Senator Leahy, thank you.

With the announcement of Senator Leahy’s retirement, all of us at the Fairbanks Museum and Planetarium wish to express our gratitude for his service to Vermont and the United States.

Senator Leahy has been a champion of the Fairbanks Museum for decades.  In 2015, the we presented him with the Franklin Fairbanks Award in recognition of his lifelong work on behalf of Vermonters and the environment.  His support for federal agencies such as the Northern Borders Regional Commission, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services has had a dramatic effect on our ability to implement important mission-driven projects.

Adam Kane, Executive Director of the Fairbanks Museum, announces the 2015 Franklin Fairbanks Award.

One of the great joys of being a non-profit director in Vermont are the calls from Senator Leahy to pass along news about federal funding.  In July 2020, we received such a call about the Fairbanks Museum’s receipt of a Save America’s Treasures grant from the National Park Service.  That call, made by one of the most powerful individuals in the nation to the director of a little museum, made solely with the intent of passing along good news, will always be a cherished memory for me.

On behalf of the Fairbanks Museum, Senator Leahy, thank you for your unmatched dedication and service to the State of Vermont.

Adam Kane, Executive Director

Tags: Fairbanks Museum, Franklin Fairbanks Award, Senator Patrick Leahy, vermont