Skip to Content

Franklin Fairbanks Award

“The Franklin Fairbanks Award is given each year to an individual, not necessarily a Vermonter, for lifelong creative and dedicated service to the residents of Vermont and/or New England, one whose body of work has significantly enriched regional and/or national awareness and understanding of our cultural heritage and/or the natural world, through contributions in the arts, humanities, or sciences.  Past ties to the Museum are not a factor in the selection process.”

2018 Franklin Fairbanks Award: Richard W. Brown

Considered one of America's foremost photographers of rural life and the New England landscape, Richard W. Brown lives in Vermont's pristine Northeast Kingdom. For over 40 years, he has searched with his camera for the unspoiled soul of this region. His photographs have appeared numerous publications, including Audubon, National Wildlife, Vermont Life, and The New York Times. More than 20 books of his photographs have been published worldwide.

The Franklin Fairbanks Award celebration and a reception for Richard W. Brown's exhibit, The Last of the Hill Farms, will be on Saturday, May 5, 5:30 to 7:30 PM, at the Fairbanks Museum.

Franklin Fairbanks Awards:
2014 Charles C. Browne
2013 Jim Arnosky
2012 Elizabeth Thompson
2011 Paul Bruhn
2010 Houghton Freeman (d)
2009 Willem Lange
2008 Stephen Long and Virginia Barlow
2006 William H. Eddy, Jr.
2005 William H. Amos
2004 Darby Bradley
2003 Mary Azarian
2002 Bruce Berryman
2001 Ruth Crane
2000 Susan C. Morse
1999 Graham S. Newell (d)
1998 Charles W. Johnson
1997 Bernd Heinrich
1996 Tom Slayton
1995 Edward Hoagland
1994 Brendan Whittaker
1993 Stuart Hall (d)
1992 Sarah B. Laughlin
1991 Carl Reidel (d)
1990 Douglas B. Kitchel (d)
1989 Hubert Vogelmann
1988 Senator Robert T. Stafford (d)

(d) deceased